Entry Exhibition

Ontenna


The deaf cannot hear. As such, it is difficult for them to obtain information from sounds in the environment, warnings, and animal cries. Given the desire to convey sound using design and technology, the developers worked with the deaf on their university graduation project and began developing Ontenna.
When the device was first attached directly to the skin, users complained about maceration and numbness. When attached to clothing, users commented on the difficulty of feeling the vibration. When attached to fingers and arms, the device interfered with signing and housework. Eventually, the developers came up with the idea of attaching the device to the hair, which allows for easier vibration recognition because the approach applies tension without direct skin contact.
Ontenna conveys sound characteristics by converting sound pressure in the 30 - 90 dB range into 256 gradations of vibration and light. Using Ontenna, deaf persons are thus able to sense animal cries, the approach of cars, the rhythm of drums, and the sound of chimes. The light also conveys sound information to those nearby. Seeing deaf persons who rarely use their voices begin to communicate vocally was moving.


Copyright © 2019 Design Intellgence Award. All rights reserved

获奖展

Ontenna


听力障碍者听不到声音。因此他们很难从自然环境中的声音,警告声和动物叫声中获得信息。考虑到使用设计和技术传达声音的愿望,开发人员们在他们的大学毕业项目上与听力障碍者合作,开始开发Ontenna。
首先,当装置直接附接到皮肤上时,用户抱怨不适和麻木感。当连接到服装时,用户难以感觉到它的振动。当连接到手指和手臂时,设备会干扰签名和家务。最终,开发者想出了将装置附接到头发的想法,而且这允许更容易地识别振动由于该方法施加压力却没有直接的皮肤接触。
Ontenna通过将30-90dB范围内的声压转换为256级振动和光,传达声音特性。使用Ontenna,聋人因此能够感知动物的哭泣,汽车的方法,鼓的节奏和铃声的声音。灯光还向附近的人传达声音信息,因为听力障碍者很少使用他们的声音与外界沟通。


Copyright © 2017 Design Intellgence Award. All rights reserved